DIY Counter top Makeover for less than $5 using Con-Tact paper!!!

Okay, I want to start this blog post out by saying, I do not own this house. We are in a rental until we find something better in our area with a major housing shortage! What started as a temporary living space, has now turned into us being here for almost a year! So, to make the best of it, I decided that this old run down house needed a bit of a face-lift. With a very strict landlord that doesn’t want any permanent changes made, I had to get creative to make living here a little less of a personal eyesore on a budget. Besides, I don’t own this place, so I didn’t want to put a ton of money into it and have nothing to gain from doing so. My UGLY counters just had to go!!! It was then that I discovered a life changing product called Con-Tact paper (I know, not a new concept).

You can buy this stuff at Walmart, Home Depot, Lowe’s and even Dollar General!!! So I decided on this simple granite look from Walmart for $4.96 a roll. I figured if I screwed up, it wouldn’t be as noticeable on this pattern, and dang I was right! I don’t have a lot of counter space to cover so I just got one roll.

I actually did this project about 3 months before starting this blog, so I don’t have progress pictures (sorry!) to show step-by-step. 

Materials used:

  • Roll of Con-Tact paper
  • Squeegee (felt works best or cover a plastic one with cloth)
  • Xacto knife

Step 1: Measure out the area you are covering and cut a piece of your roll allowing some overage. I cut an extra inch all the way around.

 Step 2: Peel about 2 inches of the backing off, fold it back and crease to give yourself something to grab onto when you start to Squeegee after sticking the adhesive to its surface.

Step 3: Line up your adhesive and stick the exposed couple of inches to the edge of the counter. I started from the wall and worked my way out so I wasn’t pulling the backing away from me.

Step 4: Grab that folded backing you made from the underside of the sheet. Using your squeegee, swipe it from side to side starting in the middle of the sheet to remove the air bubbles while slowly pulling the backing more and more until you reach the edge of your counter. If you want to cover the edges of the counter as well, just wrap it around. 

Step 5: Using your Xacto knife at angle, trim the excess adhesive off slowly so it doesn’t slip and cut into anything staying behind. 

And that’s it. If the roll wasn’t wide enough to cover the whole area, do it in sections. That’s precisely why I decided on the granite look. The only way you can tell that it’s overlapping is if you hit it at just the right angle with a light. 

After you’re done, sit back and admire your work. I did for about 30 minutes. Then I got inspired and ended up doing my yellowing fridge in chevron pattern too! 😆 

Happy DIYing!!!!

Leave a Reply

